Recipe 19/36 Pumpkin Pancakes

20121028-103222.jpg

Ingredients
2 cups of pumpkin purée
1 cup of nut or rice milk (I use cashew milk that I make myself, instructions below)
1/4 cup of orange juice
1/2 cup of apple sauce
1 teaspoon of baking powder
1 cup of tapioca flour
1/4 teaspoon of Xanthan Gum
1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon of nutmeg

Directions
Mix the dry ingredients in a small bowl. Combined the wet into a medium bowl. Slowly combine the dry into the wet, fry until golden brown and delicious.

Notes

  • I first attempted this without the flour, but it wouldn’t set up, so then I added a half cup of tapioca flour, still not enough, so I added another half cup and the results were satisfactory. Served with a good maple syrup, the pancakes had a really complex flavor. I was afraid the cashew milk might be to strong, but it came through very mild and absented the pumpkin and syrup very well. I did not notice the taste of the apple sauce at all.
  • I used the orange juice thinking it would give body and a bit of lift like butter milk did. I added a bit of Xanthan gum because after adding the flour I wasn’t sure I would have enough egg replacer to bind it. I think both the juice and Xantham gum could be considered optional.
  • The texture of the pancakes were a little off, they didn’t stiffen up like normal pancakes and the inside was a little custard issue. I will probably play with the proportions of flour and pumpkin next time I make this dish.

  • Home made cashew milk
    I use 1/3 cup of raw organic cashews and I cup of water. Put them in a blender or food processor and buzz them until it looks milk with any heavy particulates. I have a good Kitchen Aid mixer and min wife has a Vitamix blender so it goes quickly. If you are using your grandmothers kitchen appliances, you may not be able to make this work. I like using cashew milk, it’s quick to make, it has a lot of body and mouth feel, without staring, or using store bought milk replaces that are full of crap.

    20121028-103254.jpg

    20121028-103315.jpg

    Leave a comment

    1 Comment

    1. I love pumpkin season! =)

      Reply

    Leave a Reply

