Recipe 11/36: Vegan chili

2 cups of red pasta sauce (I used my own)
2 cups of vegetable stock
1 cup of black-eyed peas
1 cup of navy beans
1 cup of bell pepper (I used a combo of green, red and orange)
1 cup of onion (I used .5 cup each of yellow and white)
3/4 cup of celery
1 tablespoon of ground cumin
1 Table spoon of chili powder
.5 teaspoon of cayenne pepper
I added a teaspoon of a crazy hot chili powder I made a few years ago, but I can’t tell you how to to reproduce it with violating the Geneva conventions stance on chemical weapons.
1 teaspoon of molasses
1 tablespoon of honey. I used buckwheat honey which has a strong distinctive flavor

Soak beans overnight and cook the beans. Dice the veggies fine and sweat for five minutes, stir the spices into the veggies after wards to meld and set aside for 10 minutes. Add the sauce and stock to the beans and begin to simmer. Then add the veggies, honey and molasses and let simmer for 20 minutes to allow the favors to meld.

Notes: I made this to got with corn bead from the last recipe and served it with rice prepared in vegetable stock instead of water. It was good, but hotter than expected. I need to make it again, but cut back on the homemade fire powder.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

