Recipe 7/36 Mushroom cap pizza

I got this idea while flaming around Seward co-op looking for ideas. I must have had a hankering for pizza and when I saw the huge mushroom caps that Lisa likes to use for ‘meaty’ textures, I got the idea to use them as a base for pizza

20121025-180533.jpg

I had my doubts about this concoction, but it worked out really well. It is a strong mushroom flavor, but it still tastes like pizza.

Recipe
3 Large mushroom caps (the ones that run 3-6 inches in diameter)
1/3 cup of pasta sauce
1/3 to 1/2 cup of mozzarella cheese
1 medium clove of garlic
Half a yellow onion
Half a green or red pepper

Lisa does not like mushrooms al dente so I stuck them in the oven at 200 degrees to warm up while I did the rest of the prep. Mince the garlic and Dice the mushrooms and onions ands sweat them for five minutes on loan heat with some salt and olive oil. Heat the sauce to a simmer. Grate the cheese. Pull out the mushrooms caps and raise the oven heat to 500, add 1/3 of the sauce to the inside of each cap, split the cheese among the three caps and then add the vegetables. Place them back into the oven and let them cook until the cheese is melted and starting to brown (I think the broiler would work equally well). Plate and serve

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

