Recipe 4/36 Moup or Gumbo/Shepards Pie fusion

I called this dish moup because last weekend, my daughter misheard me say that we were having soup for dinner and wanted to know what the heck moup was. She went on to say that she wouldn’t actually want to eat anything called moup anything. So I do her I was going to create a dish that she would love and call it moup just to show her up.

I was already thinking of a vegetarian gumbo recipe and she is a fan of gumbo, so I just needed a little something to push it over the top. I have been trying to work out dishes that freeze well or transport well in small portions for me to take to work for lunch. I was thinking about a kind of gumbo pot pie, but when I saw that shepherd’s pie often used mashed potatoes instead of dough crust I knew I had my dish because Wynn is maniacal about mashed potatoes.

  • 1 cup chopped onion
  • 1 cup chopped celery
  • 1 large red pepper
  • 1 large green pepper
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 1 cup of frozen corn
  • 1 cup of sliced shitake mushrooms
  • 1 cup of sliced okra
  • 1/2 cup of flour
  • 1/2 cup of oil
  • 2 tsp. of cumin
  • 1 tsp. of chili powder
  • 1/2 tsp. of cayenne pepper
  • 1/4 cup of chopped fresh parsley
  • 1/4 cup of chopped frozen cilantro
  • 2 cups of vegetable stock

Crust

  • 4 medium russet potatos
  • 1 cup of shredded chedar cheese

Build a dark red rue with the oil and flour. I use the Alton Brown method. While the rue is going, start to boil the potatoes. Dice the vegetables down to the same size. Grind the spices and finely chop the herbs. Once the rue is done toss in the vegetables, spices and herbs until mixed. Then stir in the stock and let simmer for 20 minutes.

Mash the potatoes and add cheese. Ladle the gumbo into chili bowls, then spread the mashed potatoes on top carefully to keep them separate. Create a smooth seal on top then serve or let cool and refrigerate.

Eat!

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

