Cooking intuitively

Sometimes cooking intuitively causes issues with scale. I pulled out all my chicken bones to make stock, dumped them into a pot, added vegetables to balance it out, topped it off with water and let it go.

After filling half the freezer safe pint mason jars I had purchased, I measured it out and realized that I was getting 13 ounces to a jar and that I wasn’t going to have enough jars. After filling them all 24 and freezing the rest in a mixing bowl, my indications are that I have something close to 3 gallons of stock going into the freezer tomorrow. Not that it won’t get used for some excellent food, but I am glad that my deep freeze isn’t overflowing.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

