Recipe 2/36 – My savory breakfast shake

My wife started making us breakfast shakes a couple of years ago. Fruit shakes, with yogurt and other goodness. Since those early heady days, the shakes have gone through a lot of modification as she has focused on changing her diet. The dairy disappeared, flax, vegetable powder, hemp powder, romaine, kale and other green goodness was added. Finally the shakes reached a point where my palette could not handle it any more. The flavor and consistency made it a struggle to consume and I started to give them up.

Instead I started eating junk and quickly realized that having something good in the morning was important. Som I sat down to peruse her books of shakes, but wasn’t finding any recipes that I liked. I couldn’t figure out how to balance out fruity sweetness and the savory odds and ends that were pitched in because they were good for us. Then I recalled last fall when I made a massive amount of a homemade V8 style tomato juice and thought that perhaps a purely savory drink might take care of my issues. I scrawled down a recipe on a post-it note and it worked out pretty well, with only some minor adjustments to the ingredients.

Ingredients:

  • 1 tomato
  • 1 small clove of garlic
  • 1 cup of green tea
  • 1/2 tsp. of ground pepper (I grind 8 peppercorns with the flax)
  • 2 tsp. ground flax seed
  • 1 scoop of protein powder (we use hemp, but whey, soy or your choice)
  • Any two of the following:
    • 1 romaine leaf
    • 1 chard leaf
    • 1 kale leaf
    • 3-4 spinach leaves
  • Either one of these two:
    • 1 tsp. of ground fennel
    • 1 tsp. of ground cumin
  • Some combination of 2 tsp. dried:
    • Parsley
    • Oregano
    • Basil

Directions

I grind all the spices and flax fresh and toss them in first along with the herbs and protein power, then I had the leafy staff and finally I quarter the tomato and toss it in. Take everything for a spin until its bright green and smoothish looking, glass and drink.

Lisa tried the drink and through that she might like it as a raw old soup for lunch, but didn’t see it as a breakfast drink.

This week I bought fresh parsley and tossed some in instead of dried. It seemed to make the final product a brighter green and possible a little fresher testing, but I’ll have to experiment some more. I think fresh basil or cilantro along with the fennel could be a winner, although my wife won’t drink it if it contained either fennel or cilantro.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

