Goal for the year

So in October/November I decided to try to go vegetarian during the week. I have been trying to change my eating habits for the better over the last few years. I have been fairly successful, switching to organic food and eating more sustainably. But I still feel like I was overeating to often. So while I don’t I don’t have serious moral or dietary reasons for being strict vegetarian, I find that I am more likely to overeat when eating meat. I theorized that if I cut a significant amount of meat out of my diet It might help remediate that problem.

Thus far I have been reasonably successful. I haven’t had the sort of meltdown that makes me want to give up on the plan altogether, but it does seem that every other week I end up having a little meat during the week. I am not in a place where I feel I want to give meat totally, but I am finding that I don’t want meAt on Sundays just so I don’t have left overs that I’ll need to deal with during the week.

All of that is a long prelude to one of the goals that I have set for myself for 2012. Which is to try 36 new vegetarian recipes and blog about them here. One of my issues with going vegetarian is that I lack the goto recipes to fall back on nights when I come home and don’t want to think about cooking. When I come home like that now I am likely to either go out for dinner or to fall back to meaty recipes that I like and have been cooking for so long I don’t have to think about them. I have had some success converting some of those recipes into meatless version and I have learned a few new ones as well.

Still I think I need a lot more to get me over the hump attempting 36 new recipes. Three new recipes a month should be easy to accomplish and not leaving me feeling overwhelmed. If out of the 36 I can find 6-8 that I like enough to ok often and more that I like to cook occasionally that I will be inch better shape.

so stay tuned and I’ll see what I can one up with.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

