Final menu and agenda of planned dishes for July 17th

Green Potato soup: this might actually get done the night before so I have a dish stashed away.

Starters for those brave enough to come early.
Donuts:  Not German, but promised to Christy to lure her and Thom up to Minneapolis.  Plus I may need the sugar rush to get me through grinding 20 lbs of pork shoulder.

Sausage making: Planned on making 10 lbs of bratwurst and 5 lbs each of Italian and Polish sausage.  These is the part I am nervous about.  I have absolutely no idea how long this will take, and if it takes forever, it will throw the whole day out of whack.

Start Rue Bread

Next comes pretzels for Bob and the other folks who get there in the afternoon.  I’ve got the German style mustard seeping as I write this.  It will go into a jar tomorrow to age for a couple of days before we bust it out for pretzels and sausage.

Check the sauerkraut to see if its edible.  Set some aside for general use and make a traditional side dish with caraway and apples.

Karotten in Bier

Serve the main course, hopefully between 5 and 6 sausage making willing.

Assuming that I’m not dead on my feet.  Peanut butter cookies, also not German, but another bribe to get some shy guests into the house.

Along the way, we’ll have the typical assortment of afternoon munchies, vegetables, crackers, cheese, humus, sausage, etc.  Finally, the first batch of mead that I started based on the recipe that Colin shared; Ancient Orange Cinnamon & Clove Mead has been aging for 8 months.  I think I crack a bottle for a taste test and if it isn’t awful, it might get passed around.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Albatross

     /  July 14, 2010

    I am weeping with hunger…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

